My Home Server Setup: Part 1/N

Jigar Wala
3 min readMay 4, 2021

I’ll be blogging my journey of setting an Home server.

Dragon Ball World (Image courtesy fanpop.com)

In this Blog I’ll share my nodes setup.

I’ve bought Rpi for running light weight low cost (15W power 🎃 running 24/7 comes to less than 60 rupees)

Bought from Thingbits.in , packaging was quite reliable and parts were authentic and in good condition. I’d recommend it in India.

Thingbits cart checkout with Rpi and accessories
Rpi 4 model B with accessories

SD card came with raspbian OS installed. I wanted only terminal-based OS so I removed GUI utilities using the below commands, this will ensure future software updates won’t pull any GUI crap which I don’t need.

sudo apt-get remove --purge x11-common
sudo apt purge -y $(dpkg --list |grep '^rc' |awk '{print $2}')
sudo apt-get autoremove

I’m not going ahead with the ubuntu server currently because since I’m feeling lazy 😆 .. Well, actually that’s not reason, but actual reason I feel is raspbian OS is well supported for pi and there are a lot of stuff online and community present to help if there is an issue.

For Cloud Providers, I had very lean requirements

  • Low Latency (Datacenter as close to Mumbai )
  • Cheapest (With some free credits as toppings)

Linode and DO and vultr seems to have regions in APAC so I’m cool with it

And also they provide 2 months worth of credits (or 100$ whichever burns out earlier)

I’ve choose Linode as its DC is in Mumbai using terraform .

so now I have a Rpi, a cloud instance in mumbai and one that I didn’t mentioned was present from 6months from credits I got from alibaba cloud 😅

so total 3 nodes.. Hurray!

First thing I did was setup tailscale on them, its fantastic mesh overlay network backed by wireguard which is modern alternative of openvpn.

And I could setup a exit node and use it to tunnel all my traffic through that node.

I’m planning to make goku an exit node in future. but will see…

Tailscale Admin Panel

All my infra scripts / ansible and setup is in DragonBallWorld github repo, do have a look and ⭐️ it if you like it. Open for suggestions and ammendments.

--

--

Jigar Wala

👨🏻‍💻 🛠 📈 / Open source ❤️ / Ex - BrowserStack, MorganStanley / available by @itsjwala on internet.